Fall ’18 Craft Lunches

Throughout the fall, Lang’s First-Year Writing Program is hosting a series of weekly lunches where faculty will present dynamic and interactive lessons in the craft of writing. These lunches will be held on Tuesday afternoons, 12:30-1:30, and are open to any interested students and faculty. Food will be provided. Lunches will be held in room 510, 66 West 12th Street.

Here’s a schedule:

Tues., Sept. 11, Scott Korb, with a lesson on “Words”

Tues., Sept. 18, Megan Milks, with a lesson on “Sentences”

Tues., Sept. 25, Grace Paley Teaching Fellow Shobha Rao, with a lesson on “Paragraphs”

Tues., Oct. 2, A.W. Strouse, with a lesson on “Leads and Endings” (***NOTE: This week’s craft lunch takes place in Arnold Hall, room 205 in 55 West 13th Street.)

Tues., Oct. 9, Jonathan Liebson, with a lesson on “Formulas that Work”

Fri., Oct. 19, Scott Korb, with a lesson on “Reading as a Writer” (***NOTE: This week’s craft lunch takes place on FRIDAY, OCT. 19, not Tuesday. We’ll meet in the Wolff Conference room, 1103 in 6 East 16th Street.)

Tues., Oct. 23, Lucas Corcoran, with a lesson on “Show and Tell”

Tues., Oct. 30, Shobha Rao, with a lesson on “The Audience”

Tues., Nov. 6, Jessica Gross, with a lesson on “Clutter and Clarity”

Tues., Nov. 13, Miller Oberman, with a lesson on “Making Mistakes”

Tues., Nov. 20, Joshunda Sanders, with a talk on “Feedback”

Tues., Nov. 27, Shobha Rao, with a talk on “Figurative Language”

Tues., Dec. 4, Rachel Aydt, with a talk on “Writing as a Reader”

 

We in First-Year Writing, in the spirit of our colleagues across the University, hope these lunches can be opportunities to bring writing students and faculty together for both in-depth discussions of writing fundamentals and the more advanced lessons in what it takes to write convincing and arresting work. All are welcome. Write Scott Korb, Director of First-Year Writing, with any questions: korbs@newschool.edu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.