What is the Powerball

The U.S. Powerball was formerly a multi-state lottery game created in 1987 as the U.S. Lotto and renamed the U.S. Powerball in 1992, with the first Powerball drawing held on April 19 of that year.

A total of 44 states have joined Powerball sales to date. The game is administered and distributed by the Multi-State Lottery Association, a nonprofit organization.

Since the format change on January 15, 2012, the Powerball has a minimum jackpot prize of $40 million and a maximum prize amount of nine figures, compared to the previous prize starting at $20 million. Since Powerball’s launch, approximately 370,000 players have won tickets.

Powerball draws are held every Wednesday and Saturday at 10:59 p.m. EST. The official deadline for ticket sales is 10 p.m., although some states may have earlier deadlines.

Powerball is one of the most popular U.S. lotteries, sold in at least 28 states, and is drawn every Wednesday and Saturday.

Powerball is played so that five of the 69 white balls are drawn and one of the 26 red balls is drawn, and the jackpot is won by matching all six numbers.

Because Powerball is extremely difficult to win, jackpots tend to accumulate before they are paid out, but because the jackpot is not capped, the prizes are generous once they are drawn, often exceeding $100 million. But because the two-color ball is much harder to win than the Powerball, there was a jackpot on almost every issue, with 113 jackpots won at one time.