Fall ’19 Craft Lunches

Throughout the fall, Lang’s First-Year Writing Program is hosting a series of weekly lunches where faculty (and some special guests) will present dynamic and interactive lessons in the craft of writing. These lunches will be held on Tuesday afternoons, 12:30-1:30, and are open to the entire New School community. Food from the stellar neighborhood restaurant Kubeh will be provided. Lunches will be held in room 510, 66 West 12th Street (except Sept. 3, which is in Wollman Hall, room 500 of 65 West 11th Street).

 

Here’s a schedule of the presenters and their talks:

Tues., Sept. 3, Scott Korb, “Writing What’s Impossible” (Note! This talk will be delivered in Wollman Hall, room 500 of 65 West 11th Street.)

Tues., Sept. 10, Dina Nayeri in conversation with Olga Breydo, “Craft of The Ungrateful Refugee”

Tues., Sept. 17, Lucas Corcoran, “Words, Sentences, Meaning”

Tues., Sept. 24, Jonathan Liebson, “How a Paragraph Can Work”

Tues., Oct. 1—NO MEETING—University Centennial Celebration

Tues., Oct. 8, a conversation about collaboration between Miller Oberman and Joshua Lyon, co-author of A Wild and Precious Life, the memoir of Edie Windsor

Tues., Oct. 15, Thomas Chatterton Williams, “Self-Portrait in Black and White

Tues., Oct. 22, Jessica Gross, “Writing and Control”

Tues., Oct. 29, Rachel Aydt, “Writing on Time”

Tues., Nov. 5, Bureen Ruffin, “Feedback and Revision”

Tues., Nov. 12, Victoria Collins, “Image and Imagination”

Tues., Nov. 19, Kristi Marie Steinmetz, “Who am ‘I’ in my Essay?”

Tues., Nov. 26, Helen Rubinstein, “Reading as a Writer”

Tues., Dec. 3, AW Strouse,“My Notebook

 

We in First-Year Writing, in the spirit of our colleagues across the University, hope these lunches can be opportunities to bring writing students and faculty together for both in-depth discussions of writing fundamentals and the more advanced lessons in what it takes to write convincing and arresting work. All are welcome. Write Scott Korb, Director of First-Year Writing, with any questions: korbs@newschool.edu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *